Benjamin Mann Judging Philosophy

*If there is anything I can do within my limitations as a critic to facilitate student mental health and well-being in the round, please get in touch with me/send me an email at (benwmann@gmail.com). Student safety is always my top priority.

**I’m really sick of misogyny in debate. If your debate style involves being disproportionately demeaning or insulting toward non-cis men, this may not always be grounds to vote you down, but will probably tank your speaker points. Same goes for racism, disabilism, and other forms of hurtful rhetoric.

Hello! I’m an assistant parliamentary debate coach and Ph.D. student in Communication at The University of Utah. This is my third year out of competition: over the last two years, I coached and judged parli extensively as a forensics coach and Master’s student at University of the Pacific. Before then, I competed in parli for four years at Lewis & Clark College on the national circuit.