Introduce yourself

Welcome to Off Case. The old thread was just that…OLD. So lets see who is here these days and introduce yourself to everyone.

I am Ken Dobbe a former Debator from Southern Illinois University and then later at University Missouri ST. Louis. I have almost 20 years debate experience and am now semi-retired from debate. I am Active duty Army and have already done a tour in Iraq. Married with one son and another one on the way (July).

I’m Jack, as you may have gathered.

I debate for UNR.

I had, up until recently, played many video games that leeched my soul.

Also, up until recently, I had been quite apathetic about things - this has not changed.

Fun!

My name is Cory Freivogel. I debated policy for four years at Belleville East high school in Illinois. I am going to be a sophomore at McKendree College in the fall. I do parli and LD and am majoring in political science. I’m also in Branson, MO on vacation and extremely bored. Awesome.

I’m Debbie Seltzer, and Ive been the DOF at the University of Nevada for two years, after five years of coaching high school debate. My B.A. and M.A. are in history and I have a Ph.D. in education (history and philosophy of, actually).

Waaay back when I was a debater, there was only one kind of debate :wink: I didn’t discover it until my senior year in high school, but I did really well and loved it. I also participated as an undergrad at William and Mary, where it was a debate association and not a team (translation - no funding, and travel to tournaments consisted of fairly informal get-togethers with debate rounds at other nearby schools).

I love a good discussion, and genuinely like creative disagreement. You can generally identify me at tournaments because I still flow sideways on a legal-sized yellow pad. (Apparently it really is hard to teach an old dog new tricks, and God knows my debaters have tried!)