Kevin Yanofsky's Judging Philosophy

Background:
I debated npda/npte parli for UC Berkeley from 2011 to 2015, where I graduated with a degree in computer science. I also debated three years of circuit LD in high school prior to college. Overall, I largely view debate as a game, and think that you should do what you think gives you the best chance to win it.

Overview:

• I am fine with whatever level of speed you wish to debate at, but be sure to make sure the rest of the debaters in the room are as well.
  • I will listen to any type of argument you like, as long as you are able to justify it. However, I’ll go into further detail in later sections as to my tendencies that might deviate from the average parli judge.
  • I evaluate the round based on my flow.
  • My overall knowledge of the world is limited mostly to news headlines and debate experience. If you are reading an intricate scenario, just explain it carefully and you should be fine.
  • My personally experience of debate was split fairly evenly between policy and critical.
  • I do have a moderate preference that the affirmative defend the resolution (perhaps if you want to be critical, find a way to do so without fiat). That being said, good argumentation can certainly override this preference, and while I might like a good framework debate, I will not give credence to a bad one.

Case Debate / Disads:

• For both the aff and neg, the more specific your links are to the plan the better.
  • Be sure to fully terminalize your impacts, I might feel uncomfortable doing that work for you. If the terminalized form of your opponent’s impacts are not obvious, I find pointing this out to be a strong way to outweigh them.

Counterplans:

• I have little bias for or against condo, debate to your style here.
  • If you want to run other “cheater” counterplans, I find that topic specific reasons those counterplans should be relevant are persuasive responses to theory.

Theory/Topicality: